課堂輔導課

Martin 女士和 Fuller 女士進入 K-5 年級,提供每兩週一次的課堂輔導課程。

阿靈頓的所有中小學都實行 第二步 計劃作為其諮詢核心課程的一部分。 的 第二步 該計劃是一個循證課程,提供有關社會情感學習的課程。 第二步將涉及的單元是:

今年學生將學到很多東西,他們將需要您的幫助! 全年中,您都可以在此頁面上找到與我們的一些課程配套的家庭鏈接。 主頁鏈接是簡單有趣的活動,您和您的孩子可以一起完成。 它們是您了解孩子正在學習的知識以及讓孩子向您展示他或她所知道的知識的好方法。

進入 第二 步驟 資源,去 www.secondstep.org 並輸入您孩子所在年級的激活碼。以下是代碼:

K:SSPK FAMI LY70 1:SSP1 FAMI LY71 2:SSP2 FAMI LY72
3:SSP3 FAMI LY73 4:SSP4 FAMI LY74 5:SSP5 FAMI LY75

如果您對課堂輔導課有任何疑問,請與我們聯繫!


學習技巧

聽力技巧,專心致志,自言自語

在我們的學習技能單元中,幼兒園和一年級學生可以了解我們的聽力技能。 要求您的學生向您展示手勢,以了解以下聽力技巧:

  • 看著眼睛(指向你的眼睛)
  • 聆聽的耳朵(遮住耳朵)
  • 聲音安靜(將手指放在閉合的嘴唇上)
  • 身體保持靜止(給自己一個溫柔的擁抱)

我們還將了解超級強大的Attent-o-Scope! 當我們集中註意力並使用我們所有的聆聽技能時,我們的Attent-o-Scope就可以使用。 Attent-o-Scope有一個特別整潔的手勢(您假裝將雙筒望遠鏡舉到眼睛)。

自言自語

我們還學習了使用自我交談來提醒自己繼續工作的知識。 當我們使用自我交談時,我們在竊竊私語或默默地提醒自己“專注”,“不要分心”或“使用Attent-o-Scope”。

自信

一年級學生學習三種不同的交流形式。 當我們以消極或激進的方式講話時,我們並沒有我們需要的清晰或直接。 相反,最好是使用鎮定,尊重和強烈的聲音來保持自信。

神經

在二年級和三年級,我們學習了大腦的三個重要部分:杏仁核(可以幫助我們在情況下快速做出反應),海馬(可以幫助我們記住事情)和前額葉皮層(可以幫助我們做出明智的選擇) 。 我們還學習正念練習,以幫助我們集中思想。

設定目標和製定計劃

四年級和五年級的學生學習設定短期和長期目標以及製定實現目標的計劃。 使用良好計劃清單,我們檢查我們的計劃以查看是否:

  1. 計劃符合目標
  2. 有足夠的時間完成計劃
  3. 不太複雜
  4. 這是可以實現的

主頁鏈接

回到頂部


欺凌預防

在我們的防止欺凌單元中,長分支的學生將學習如何識別,舉報和拒絕欺凌。 我們還學習瞭如何成為Upstanders。

認識

欺凌會傷害某人的身體,感情或財產; 它是故意發生的; 這是不公平的或單方面的; 它發生不止一次; 而且我們無法阻止它。

即時報告

當我們認識到欺凌行為的發生時,我們必須將其報告給有愛心和值得信賴的成年人。 當我們報告欺凌行為時,我們會嘗試使用清晰,認真和尊重的自信聲音。 在我們的防止欺凌小組中,要求所有學生在長分支社區中確定可以向其舉報欺凌行為的有愛心和可信賴的成年人。

拒絕

直立者和任何遭受欺凌的人都可以通過告訴欺凌者停止使用自信的聲音來拒絕欺凌。

擁護者

倡導者有責任防止和製止社區中的欺凌行為。 當他們意識到不安全或不友好的情況正在發生時,他們可以通過向成年人報告,拒絕欺凌並檢查受害者來支持經歷不安全或不友好行為的人。 支持者了解,我們所有人都有責任使Long Branch成為每個人都可以享受的安全和熱情的社區。

主頁鏈接

回到頂部


兒童保護股

兒童保護股包括從幼兒園到五年級教室的一年級特定課程。 Long Branch的學生學習幫助他們確定某事是否安全的方法:特別是關於安全,不安全和不想要的觸摸,以及有關觸摸私人身體部位的規則(我們將這定義為學生被泳衣覆蓋的區域)。 他們還學會對不安全或不想要的觸摸說不,並告訴成年人是否有人違反了觸摸私人部位的規則。 學生還練習向成年人求助,告訴成年人不安全的情況,並敢於擺脫不安全的情況。

主頁鏈接

回到頂部


神入

在本單元中,學生將學習如何使用身體暗示(例如較年輕的肢體語言和麵部表情)來識別自己和他人的感覺,以及語音語氣,行為和單詞選擇。 我們還了解了相似性和差異性,以及如何變得相似和不同都可以!

慈悲

在較年級的學生中,當我們認識到自己的感受時,他們就會學習如何同情他人。 同情是行動的同情心! 我們還將討論Upstanders如何通過同情和同情使Long Branch成為一個包容和安全的社區。

主頁鏈接

回到頂部


情緒管理

在本單元中,學生通過三個易於記憶的步驟學習如何冷靜下來:停止,說出自己的心情和冷靜下來。 每個人的第3步(“冷靜”)看起來都不一樣; 這可能意味著慢慢計數,腹部呼吸或使用積極的自我交談。 學生將學習如何在遇到強烈情緒(例如沮喪,沮喪或生氣)的情況下應用這些步驟。 我們還了解了在嘗試解決問題或與他人溝通之前使用冷靜下來的步驟的重要性。

主頁鏈接

回到頂部


問題解決

在本單元中,學生學習了STEP的首字母縮寫,即“解決問題”:

S –不用怪說問題

T –考慮安全和尊重的解決方案

E –探索後果; 如果選擇每種解決方案,會發生什麼?

P –選擇最佳解決方案並製定計劃。

在較低的年級,學生練習將STEP應用於角色之間的衝突。 在高年級,學生將STEP應用於他們在現實生活中遇到的衝突。

主頁鏈接

回到頂部


加入我們

在職業諮詢處,

幼稚園:

  • 了解人們有工作,並且存在各種各樣的工作。
  • 了解人們夢想著獲得某些工作。
  • 了解人們在我們學校從事的工作。
  • 了解人們在我們社區中從事的工作。

從一年級開始,每年Long Branch的學生都會探索不同的職業領域,以及每個職業中所需的技能和培訓。 每個年級探索的職業類別是:

一年級:

  • 農業,糧食和自然資源
  • 運輸,分配和物流
  •  法律,公共安全,懲戒和安全

二年級:

  • 藝術,音視頻技術和傳播
  • 健康科學
  • 教育和培訓

三年級:

  • 酒店及旅遊
  • 人工服務

四年級:

  • 製造業
  • 企業管理與行政
  • 建築與施工

五年級:

  • 金融
  • 資訊科技
  • 營銷
  • 政府和公共行政

回到頂部


心理健康意識月

學生學習各種維持心理健康的方法,例如獲得充足的睡眠,飲食均衡,運動,出門旅行,與朋友交往以及練習自我保健和正念。高年級的學生還學習如何識別他們何時需要支持或幫助他們的心理健康。 在2019-20學年,該單元將補充Ride the Waves課程的課程。

回到頂部


預防課

阿靈頓縣公立學校的使命是確保所有學生在安全、健康和支持性的學習環境中學習和茁壯成長。 為了幫助您的孩子在過渡到中學時做出最積極的生活選擇,我們的 5 年級學生將接受有關避免危險行為(例如,尤其是吸電子煙和其他藥物)的課程。虐待顧問將提供 1 節 45 分鐘的預防課程,符合健康和體育學習標準 (SOL)。 課程主題包括基本的健康概念、健康的決定以及宣傳和健康促進。 回到頂部

Classroom Counseling Lessons

Ms. Martin and Ms. Fuller go into grades K-5 to deliver biweekly classroom counseling lessons.

All elementary and middle schools in Arlington implement the Second Step program as part of their counseling core curriculum. The Second Step program is an evidence-based curriculum that provides lessons on social-emotional learning. The units that will be covered through Second Step are:

Students will be learning a lot this year-and they will need your help! Throughout the year, you will be able to find Home Links on this page that go with several of our lessons. Home Links are simple, fun activities for you and your child to complete together. They are a great way for you to understand what your child is learning and for your child to show you what he or she knows.

To access Second Step resources, go to www.secondstep.org and enter the activation code for the grade your child is in. Below are the codes:

K: SSPK FAMI LY70          1: SSP1 FAMI LY71          2: SSP2 FAMI LY72
3: SSP3 FAMI LY73           4: SSP4 FAMI LY74          5: SSP5 FAMI LY75

If you have any questions about classroom counseling lessons, please contact us!


Skills for Learning

Listening Skills, Attent-o-Scope, Self-Talk

In our Skills for Learning unit, Kindergarten and 1st grade learn about our listening skills. Ask your student to show you the hand signals for the following listening skills:

  • Looking eyes (point to your eyes)
  • Listening ears (cup your ears)
  • Voices quiet (put a finger up to your closed lips)
  • Body still (give yourself a gentle hug)

We also learn about the super powerful Attent-o-Scope! Our Attent-o-Scopes are on when we have focused our attention and are using all of our listening skills. There’s an especially neat hand signal for the Attent-o-Scope (you pretend to hold binoculars up to your eyes).

Self-Talk

We also learn about using self-talk to remind ourselves to stay on task. When we use self-talk, we are using a whisper or reminding ourselves silently to “focus”, “don’t get distracted”, or “use the Attent-o-Scope”.

Being Assertive

First graders learn about three different forms of communication. When we speak in a passive or aggressive way, we are not as clear or direct as we need to be. Instead, it is best to use a calm, respectful and strong voice in order to be assertive.

Neuroscience

In 2nd and 3rd grades, we learn about three important parts of our brains: our amygdala (which helps us react quickly in situations), our hippocampus (which helps us remember things), and our prefrontal cortex (which helps us make strong choices). We also learn mindfulness practices to help us focus our minds.

Setting Goals and Making Plans

4th and 5th grade students learn about setting short- and long-term goals and making plans to achieve them. Using the Good Plan Checklist, we check our plans to see if:

  1. The plan matches the goal
  2. There is enough time to accomplish the plan
  3. It is not too complicated
  4. It’s achievable

Home Links

Back to Top


Bullying Prevention

In our Bullying Prevention unit, Long Branch students learn how to Recognize, Report, and Refuse Bullying. We also learn about being Upstanders.

Recognize

Bullying hurts someone’s body, feelings or belongings; it happens on purpose; it is unfair or one-sided; it happens more than once; and we are unable to get it to stop.

Report

When we recognize bullying it happening, we must report it to a caring and trusted adult. When we report bullying, we try to use an assertive voice that is clear, serious, and respectful. In our Bullying Prevention Unit, all students are asked to identify caring and trusted adults in the Long Branch community who they could report bullying to.

Refuse

Both Upstanders and anyone who is experiencing bullying can refuse bullying by telling the bully or bullies to stop using an assertive voice.

Upstanders

Upstanders take responsibility for preventing and stopping bullying in their community. When they recognize an unsafe or unkind situation is happening, they can support the person experiencing the unsafe or unkind behavior by reporting it to an adult, refusing the bullying, and checking in on the victim. Upstanders understand that we all have a responsibility to keep Long Branch a safe and welcoming community for everyone.

Home Links

Back to Top


Child Protection Unit

The Child Protection Unit includes one grade level specific lesson in Kindergarten through 5th grade classrooms. Long Branch students learn ways to help them decide if something is safe or not: specifically, about safe, unsafe, and unwanted touches, and rules about touching private body parts (we define this to students as the area covered by swimsuits). They also learn to say no to unsafe or unwanted touches, and to tell an adult if someone breaks rules about touching private body parts. Students also practice asking an adult for help, telling an adult about an unsafe situation, and being assertive to get out of unsafe situations.

Home Links

Back to Top


Empathy

In this unit, students learn about identifying feelings in themselves and in others using physical cues like body language and facial expressions in the younger grades, in addition to tone of voice, behavior, and word choice. We also learned about similarities and differences, and how being similar and being different are both okay!

Compassion

In the older grades, students learn about treating others with compassion when we recognize how they’re feeling. Compassion is empathy in action! We also discuss how Upstanders use empathy and compassion to make Long Branch an inclusive and safe community.

Home Links

Back to Top


Emotion Management

In this unit, students learn How to Calm Down in three easy-to-remember steps: Stop, Name Your Feeling, and Calm Down. Step 3 (“Calm Down”) looks different for every person; it may mean counting slowly, belly breathing, or using positive self-talk. Students learn about applying these steps in situations when they are experiencing strong emotions, like frustration, being upset, or angry. We also learn about the importance of using the steps for calming down before we try to problem solve or communicate with someone else.

Home Links

Back to Top


Problem Solving

In this unit, students learned the STEP acronym for Problem Solving:

S – Say the problem without blame

T – Think of safe and respectful solutions

E – Explore consequences; what would happen if you chose each solution?

P – Pick the best solution and make a plan.

In the younger grades, students practice applying STEP to conflicts between characters. In older grades, students apply STEP to conflicts they are experiencing in real life.

Home Links

Back to Top


Career

In the counseling unit on Careers,

Kindergartners:

  • Learn that people have jobs and a variety of jobs exist.
  • Learn that people dream about getting certain jobs.
  • Learn about jobs people do at our school.
  • Learn about jobs people do in our community.

Beginning in first grade, each year Long Branch students explore different career clusters and the skills and training required for jobs within each cluster. The career clusters explored in each grade are:

First Grade:

  • Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources
  • Transportation, Distribution, and Logistics
  •  Law, Public Safety, Corrections, & Security

Second Grade:

  • Arts, A/V Technology, and Communications
  • Health Science
  • Education and Training

Third Grade:

  • Hospitality and Tourism
  • Human Services
  • STEM

Fourth Grade:

  • Manufacturing
  • Business Management and Administration
  • Architecture and Construction

Fifth Grade:

  • Finance
  • Information Technology
  • Marketing
  • Government and Public Administration

Back to Top


Mental Health Awareness Month

Students learn about various ways to maintain mental wellness, such as getting plenty of sleep, eating a well-balanced diet, getting exercise, going outside, socializing with friends, and practicing self-care and mindfulness.Students in older grades also learn about how to recognize when they need support or help with their mental health and wellness. In the 2019-20 school year, this unit will be supplemented with lessons from the Riding the Waves curriculum.

Back to Top


Prevention Lesson

Arlington County Public School’s mission is to ensure all students learn and thrive in a safe, healthy, and supportive learning environment. To assist your child in making the most positive life choices as they transition to middle school, our 5th graders will receive a lesson on avoiding risky behavior (such as becoming involved with vaping, in particular, and other drugs in general.) A trained Substance Abuse Counselor will be offering 1 45-minute prevention-based lessons, which align with the Health and PE Standards of Learning (SOLs). The lesson topics include essential health concepts, healthy decisions, and advocacy and health promotion. Back to Top