克里斯托弗·纽波特

詹姆斯一世国王克里斯托弗·纽波特(Christopher Newport)是一位英国探险家,出生于1561年。除了他热爱大海之外,对他的童年一无所知。

他在30岁时成为船长。在古巴附近,他的船遇到了两艘充满宝藏的西班牙船。 纽波特上尉想要为英国女王装点宝藏,并展开了一场血腥的战斗。 在战斗中,他的一些水手被打死,其他人受伤。 纽波特船长甚至失去了右臂!

在接下来的几年中,纽波特船长大部分时间都在海上作战。 他为英国的下一任统治者詹姆斯一世国王带来了许多财富。

VA公司印章1606年,纽波特上尉被要求加入弗吉尼亚公司。 该公司的主要工作是为前往弗吉尼亚的旅程付费,以便在那里为英国建立殖民地。 纽波特(Newport)第一次进入新世界的旅程是1606年XNUMX月。三艘船起航。

他们是 苏珊·康斯坦斯中, 发现,并 一帆风顺。 纽波特船长是 苏珊·康斯坦斯.

1607年XNUMX月,他们到达陆地,定居在一条大河口附近的地区。 纽波特将其土地命名为Jamestown,弗吉尼亚州,并将这条河命名为James River,以纪念其英国赞助商国王詹姆斯一世。毕竟,他是创立弗吉尼亚公司的人!

苏珊常数纽波特船长还以在英格兰和弗吉尼亚之间再进行三趟旅行而闻名,将物资和更多的人带到了陷入困境的詹姆斯敦定居点。 而且,他是最早到达詹姆斯河坠落线的人之一。 经过多年的海上航行,纽波特船长终于定居在弗吉尼亚州的詹姆斯河,并开设了一家小商店。 弗吉尼亚州纽波特纽斯市因克里斯托弗·纽波特而得名。 他于15年1617月55日去世,享年XNUMX岁,当时被认为是高龄!

Christopher Newport

King James I Christopher Newport was an English explorer who was born in 1561.  Not much is known about his childhood other than the fact that he loved the sea.

He became a captain at the age of 30. Near Cuba, his ship met two Spanish  ships that were full of treasure. Captain Newport wanted the treasure for the Queen of England and started a bloody battle. During the battle, several of his sailors were killed and others were injured. Captain Newport even lost his right arm!

For the next few years, Captain Newport spent most of his time engaging in battles on the sea. He brought home lots of riches to England’s next ruler, King James I.

Seal of VA Company In 1606, Captain Newport was asked to join the Virginia Company. This company’s main job was to pay for a journey to Virginia so that a colony could be built there for England. Newport’s first journey to the New World was in December of 1606. Three ships set sail on the journey.

They were the Susan Constant, the Discovery, and the Godspeed. Captain Newport was the captain of the Susan Constant.

In April of 1607, they reached land, settling on an area near the mouth of a large river. Newport named the land Jamestown, Virginia and the river the James River in honor of their English sponsor, King James I. After all, he was the one who started the Virginia Company!

susan constant Captain Newport is also known for making three more trips between England and Virginia, bringing supplies and more people to the struggling Jamestown settlement. And, he was one of the first men to reach the Fall Line of the James River.After many years at sea, Captain Newport finally settled on the James River in Virginia and opened a small store. The city of Newport News, Virginia is named for Christopher Newport. He  died on August 15, 1617 at the age of 55, which was considered OLD at the time!