雅克卡地亚

卡地亚

雅克·卡地亚(Jacques Cartier)于1491年在法国出生。直到他成年并成为高级水手之前,对他的了解并不多。

1534年,卡地亚(Cartier)享年43岁,法国国王弗朗西斯一世(Francis I)派他前往北美,以寻找黄金和财富,尤其是在法国殖民土地。 他还被告知要找到秘密的西北通道,它将把水手从大西洋带到亚洲和印度群岛。 相反,卡地亚(Cartier)的船降落在加拿大海岸圣劳伦斯河(St. Lawrence River)海湾附近。 他是第一个登陆加拿大的欧洲人。 他探索了附近的岛屿,然后空手返回法国。

在卡地亚的第二次和第三次旅行中,他遇到了许多障碍。 由于他在冬季航行,他的船被困在冰上长达数月之久。 他的许多水手生病了,其中近四分之一丧生! 卡地亚从未找到过秘密的西北通道,也从未找到过黄金和财富。 相反,他探索了圣劳伦斯河(St. Lawrence River)1,600英里,发现了大量的森林,海湾和印第安部落

尽管卡地亚(Cartier)没有完成他打算做的事情,但他在法国对新世界的探索中发挥了重要作用。 由于雅克·卡地亚(Jacques Cartier),法国现在可以夺取土地并开始殖民新世界。

Jacques Cartier

cartier

Jacques Cartier was born in France in 1491. Not much is known about him until he was an adult and became a master sailor.

In 1534, when Cartier was 43 years old, King Francis I of France sent him to North America in order to find gold and riches and especially to colonize land for France. He was also told to find the secret Northwest Passage that would take sailors from the Atlantic Ocean to Asia and the Indies. Instead, Cartier’s ship landed on the coast of Canada near the gulf of the St. Lawrence River. He was the first European to land in Canada. He explored the islands nearby and then returned to France empty handed.

On Cartier’s second and third trips, he dealt with many obstacles. Because he sailed in the winter, his ships became trapped in ice for months. Many of his sailors became ill and nearly one quarter of them died! Cartier never did find the secret Northwest Passage, nor did he ever find gold and riches. Instead, he explored 1,600 miles of the St. Lawrence River and discovered a huge amount of forests, bays and indian tribes

Although Cartier did not accomplish what he set out to do, he played an important part in France’s exploration of the New World. Because of Jacques Cartier, France could now claim land and begin to colonize the New World.