胡安·庞塞·德莱昂

418px-Juan_Ponce_de_León

胡安·庞塞·德莱昂(Juan Ponce de Leon)出生于1460年左右的西班牙。1508年,他被西班牙派去征服了圣胡安岛,该岛现在被称为波多黎各。 他确实征服了那里的土地和泰诺斯印第安人,并在接下来的三年中统治了该岛。

一直以来,庞塞·德莱昂(Ponce de Leon)一直对寻找比米尼(Bimini)土地感兴趣,因为西班牙国王费迪南德(Ferdinand)愿意让他拥有它。 有人说他还在寻找一个魔术喷泉,它将使人们永远年轻。 在西班牙国王的允许下,他开始追随自己的梦想。 然而,国王还告诉他去世时要寻找财富和征服土地。

1513年,庞塞·德莱昂终于到达土地。 他声称现在的佛罗里达州圣奥古斯丁附近有西班牙土地。 因为那是复活节的季节,所以他称它为La Florida,意思是“盛开的复活节”。 在回到西班牙之前,他在佛罗里达州的南端航行,进入墨西哥湾。

到庞塞·德莱昂(Ponce de Leon)47岁的时候。 他决定自己想在佛罗里达度过最后的时光。 毕竟,他找到了它,他声称要归西班牙所有,他想在那里建立一个殖民地。 他从来没有机会开始殖民地,因为他被一个愤怒的本地人的箭射中了。 可悲的是,如果他一直在寻找神奇的青春之泉,他永远找不到!

Juan Ponce de Leon

418px-Juan_Ponce_de_León

Juan Ponce de Leon was born in Spain around 1460. In 1508, he was sent by Spain to conquer the island of San Juan, which is now called Puerto Rico. He did conquer the land and the Tainos Indians who lived there, and ruled the island for the next three years.

All along, Ponce de Leon had been interested in trying to find a land called Bimini because King Ferdinand of Spain had offered to let him have it if it could be found.  Some people say he was also looking for a magic fountain that would keep people young forever. With the permission of the king of Spain, he set out to follow his dream. However, the king also told him to search for riches and find land to conquer while he was gone.

In 1513, Ponce de Leon finally reached land. He claimed the land near what is now St. Augustine, Florida for Spain. Because it was the Easter season, he called it La Florida, which means “flowery Easter.” He sailed around the southern tip of Florida into the Gulf of Mexico before returning home to Spain.

By the time Ponce de Leon was 47 years old. He decided he wanted to spend his last years in Florida. After all, he found it, he claimed it for Spain, and he wanted to start a colony there. He never had the chance to start the colony because he was shot by the arrow of an angry native. And sadly, if he ever was looking for the magical Fountain of Youth, he never found it!